The year that was 2016

Given that we are almost in the final week of January 2017, some might consider the heading for today’s post “too late” but i do believe it is important to do a “post mortem”of 2016. It helps as you continue with the rest of 2o17.

 From a writing perspective, 2016 was not very fruitful for me. I had many conversations with myself on why i could just not bring myself to write another post. I don’t think it was “writers block” apparently a season when the creative juices will just not flow.

I think sometimes we just want to move on with our lives we actually do not take our time to go through and take lessons from our failures or mistakes.  I think that in itself is a mistake. I might have written elsewhere on this blog about a story i heard years back about the young men and women (well mostly men) who travelled to South Africa to work in the gold mines.  The journey was normally on foot and would take several weeks following the railway line. The problem was that when they woke up each morning in the middle of nowhere, it was not easy to tell which direction they were suppose to be going. By the way I am referring to a period when there were no mobile phones or any such gadgets to provide directions  (😊😊Just so my millennial readers are clear). Sometimes they only discovered hours and miles later that they were going backwards.  So to deal with this problem, they would light a fire on one side and sleep on the opposite side of the fire. When they woke up in the morning, whatever side the fire was on, that is where they were coming from and they could continue with their journey confidently. 

There are still many months left in the year. Reviewing the last  year,  gleaning lessons and seeking for areas of improvement will ensure that you don’t get to July only to discover you are doing exactly the same things that have not delivered results in the past.  

Based on a review of my 2o16, I now know why I did not post as much as I would have wanted to in 2016 and i will be sharing on this in the coming days. 

So it’s never too late to wish you a successful 2017. 

Lets journey together 

TSB

You can reach me on SheJournies@gmail.com. 

Standard

Leave a Reply

